years of inspiration

I’m trying something new here, so bear with me!

Years ago I was gifted a photograph that I treasure to this day. It was taken by a friend, developed and printed her, with a poem overlayed in white typewriter text. It has gone up on every wall I have had in the US, and ever since then I have been (internally) obsessed with the text superimposed on photographs.

So I tried it. I don’t have Photoshop, nor a lot of photo editing experience. I don’t really care – I have never considered myself a photographer. I’m happy to get what I have, and I can’t be bothered going through and editing the contrast, fill light, etc. And Picassa doesn’t give a lot of text overlay options for their photographs, so I am stuck with basic fonts, rotation angles and not a whole lot more. If I could do this properly – which maybe someday I will – I’ll learn what I should be doing, make the text follow the curves and have everything smooth and pretty. This is my “rough draft”. All photos were taken by me, and all poems have been written by me over the past few years.

Anyway, here is a sampling of what I was playing around with. I would love CONSTRUCTIVE criticism – but having said that, please keep in mind how rough this all is and that it’s done on an AcerOne Netbook. So it’s not like I have the advantage of close up detail. Blah blah, ok, I’m done with excuses.

So there we go! If anyone knows an easier way to do this that gives more options (and doesn’t need a program that eats up tons of HD space/memory), please let me know!

Much love and many hugs,
Joslyn

3 thoughts on “years of inspiration

  1. First of all, I’m flattered. Thanks.
    Secondly, for what you have to work with, those are awesome. It would be cool if you had more font/color/lay out options… My brother might be able to help you with that if you’re ever in the same place at the same time. The only thing I would change is the color of the font on the blurry photo is hard to read- at least on my screen.

    xo.

Leave a Reply

