birthdays!

Tomorrow I turn 28. Actually, in Matty’s world, I already am 28 🙂

As I tend to do on “big” occasions, it’s a day for a bit of rumination for me – about where I’ve come from, the path I’m heading down currently and, consequently, the people around me. I had a nice conversation with Jimmi the other day about friends and friendships, and it seems particularly relevant that we had that conversation just days before my birthday.

I have always emphasized the fact that I am extremely fortunate to have such amazing, incredible, caring people in my life. Tomorrow I will be celebrating with one of my best friends of 10 years; we met days after I turned 18 and she turned 21 and are now completing a decade of a strong, sisterly bond. I have friends that have been by my side for almost 15 years, and new friends that I know I can depend on in the worst, weepiest, most pathetic moments. Friends to laugh with, lean on and love and who love me back.

I like to think that, for the most part, I am the person that I will be for the rest of my life. Tastes might change in fashion, music and food, but at the core I would like to continue to be the person that those around me know and love. I also believe that, on the whole, I am the same person that I was 10 and 15 years ago. Of course I have learned more about the world and more about myself, have suffered my downs and cherished my ups; I have seen more of the world, lived in new and different cultures, expressed myself publicly in ways I perhaps wouldn’t have when I was younger, but at the core I am me.

I love that I have friendships that are both silver and gold. I love that there are certain people with whom I can say just two words in a certain intonation and they know my precise reference to an event that is long-passed. I love that there are new faces around me with whom I am creating new memories to hold onto and relish in the future, and it’s a future with so much opportunity and growth that I know in another ten years I will be able to say this exact same thing.

I am still learning; I am still growing. I still have goals and ideas and fears and limitations, but I am more aware of the challenges around me and the support that each person offers. I’m excited to start my next year of life, a year of travel and newness (is that a word?) and so much that I wasn’t expecting but am currently excitedly anticipating! And, more than anything, I am looking forward to getting closer to my FTP!

So here’s to birthdays, friendships, the journey thus far experienced and the future yet to be written!!

Much love and many hugs,
Joslyn

P.S. Happy birthday, Laura!

P. P.S. If you really want to get me a birthday present, check out these things:
Sharpie Pen(cil)
Grammar Freaks ‘R’ Us
A friend’s book
but the best birthday gift is already in my heart and on my finger – I love you baby!!

Leave a Reply

