Blogging goals

One of my 2015 goals is to create a space for myself to encourage writing. Inspired by Julie (who is inspiring in so many ways!), I realized it’s time to get my laptop off the dining room table and surround myself with fewer distractions. Sitting downstairs means there is TV, direct access to the kitchen (and coffee!) and domestic duties that seem to call my name when I’m meant to be focused on other, more important, things.

Having moved into an established family home when I came to Australia, it was the first time in my life I didn’t have “my room”. Even when I was working as a TL I had my few tokens that traveled with me everywhere, like the pocket-sized Buddha that was gifted to me prior to my first semester studying abroad. Yes, I have my bedside table with a few trinkets, but the walls are no longer decorated with random quotes and postcards but portraits and Samara drawings. Which, don’t get me wrong, I love. But it’s time I get a bit of my own, inspirational space back.

The plan forming in my mind is to rearrange our guest room, perhaps convincing Matt to sell the bed and invest in a good quality air mattress or futon (we have guests stay with us maybe 7 nights of the year) and set up a “Corner of Joslyn”. This will include cork boards on which I can hang pictures, post cards, quotes, ideas, suggestions, Venetian masks and the like, and I will also get myself a writing desk and comfy chair.

This morning I went to check out a vintage writing desk and the woman selling it was awesome. She is a blogger, vintage furniture maker and etsy seller. Speaking with her inspired me to take the time to write again. It might not be every day or even every week, but I truly feel that if I can dedicate space to myself I can also dedicate time to nurture and expand on my writing. I have a lot of goals for 2015 and feel like it’s going to be a strong, powerful year for me.

It all has to start somewhere.

Much love and many hugs,
Joslyn

2 thoughts on “Blogging goals

  1. Way to go you, awesome news to hear. I hope you can have an inspired and productive year, a year of you and actualising dreams and goals. It was wonderful to meet you.

Leave a Reply

