Fortune

What is good fortune? Is it winning the lottery? Hitting all the green lights during your morning drive? Getting a free coffee because they made a minor error with your order?

Every year, Matt and I make a list of goals to achieve during the coming 12 months. We try not to make “resolutions”, feeling that there’s too much pressure to change. Instead we focus on those long-term goals, from international travel to using what we already have to getting a few more qualifitcations under our belts.

I forgot to add this year to remember how fortunate we are, and in so many aspects of life. We have food, running water, health, electricity. There’s a roof over our heads and money in the bank. We own our own business and it’s doing well. We can fill the fuel tanks. We can treat ourselves to ice cream or a night at the movies. In the short-term, we’ve been reminded of this after we were almost completely unaffected by the Christmas Day tornado that ripped through the Gold Coast, cutting thousands of people’s power, downing trees, crushing vehicles and even causing death. Many are still – on 1 January – without power. Tarps keeping water out because their roof was ripped off. And many people who lost power had just done their grocery shopping, with too many requests on FB for assistance – even just $30 – to buy food for the kids or put fuel in the tank. It’s gut wrenching.

And even then, in comparison, so many of those people are fortunate. News flows in from Ukraine, from Gaza, from war-torn, famine-ravaged countries across the world. It’s winter in the northern hemisphere, adding an extra layer to battle through, whereas even those suffering in QLD aren’t at risk of frostbite or freezing to death. These people have lost more than power or running water, they have lost friends, family, entire communities. Buildings are rubble. Memories, cultures, history, cherished lives and smiles and laughter – gone. Simply gone.

This year, I will do what I can to celebrate my good fortune. I will treat those around me with more compassion. I will donate what I can when I am able, whether that’s time, food, clothing or money. I will not let my good fortune be taken for granted.

What are you celebrating in the new year?

Leave a comment